There is a unique hiking path in Fermanville which follows the stream called le Poult. It winds its way through la vallée des moulins (valley of water mills) which got its name from the large number of mills that once lined the stream. Some of the old buildings have been restored and are used as private residences. The most unique part of the walk through the valley is the Fermanville viaduct. Spanning the valley with 20 arches at 242 meters long and 32 meters high, the viaduct was built between 1908 and 1911 for the rail line which ran between Barfleur and Cherbourg. During the Second World War it was sabotaged by the German army on June 21, 1944. It was restored in 1947 but was not used for much longer since the rail line between Cherbourg and Barfleur closed on September 30, 1950. The city has incorporated the restored viaduct into the public hiking path, PR48. If you follow the PR48 you will walk past this small chapel devoted to Notre-Dame des Champs (Our Lady of the Fields) which is no longer used and is slowly deteriorating. Near the parking lot is the church of Saint-Martin which dates as far back as the 13th century. The church has the distinction of being built in the form of a Greek cross with transepts of equal size. It is also quite unique in having no steeple or bell tower. In the middle of the 17th century it was decided to build a bell tower on the hillside behind the church instead since it was a lot cheaper than trying to build one into the existing structure. The chapel of the north transept is dedicated to Saint-Martin while the chapel of the south transept is dedicated to Notre-Dame de Lourdes. Most of the stained glass windows are from the early 20th century. Eight of them were installed after World War II. The light through the glass creates wonderful rainbow colors on the columns which separate the choir and the nave. Near the parking lot entrance is a memorial to local poet, Marie Ravenel which was inaugurated in 1905. The monument, conceived by architect Mesnage, was initiated by a society of poets from Cherbourg called la Violette manchoise who raised money for its construction. It is adorned with a bronze medallion depicting Marie Ravenel in traditional Norman dress.