Louis XI built the Château de Langeais from 1465 to 1469 as a stronghold along the road from Nantes, the route most likely to be taken by an invading army from Brittany. This threat vanished after the marriage of Charles VIII and Anne of Brittany was celebrated in the château in 1491. The château was built in one go, a rare event. It has not been altered since, also a rarity. It is one of the most interesting in the Loire Valley, owing to the patient efforts of Jacques Siegfried, the last owner, who refurnished it in the style of the 15th century and who bequeathed it to the Institut de France upon his death. On the town side, it resembles a feudal fortress with its high walls, round towers, a crenellated and machicolated sentry walk and a drawbridge spanning the moat. The apartments inside are of exceptional quality and convey an accurate picture of aristocratic life in the 15th century. The salons and bedrooms are decked out with more than 30 tapestries from the 15th to 16th centuries. The guardroom, converted into a dining room has a monumental chimneypiece, the hood of which represents a castle with battlements manned by small figures. On the first floor, in the Crucifixion room, there is an early four-poster bed and a 17th century panel from Brussels. On the second floor, in Charles VIII’s bedchamber stands a curious 17th century clock with only one hand as well as two 16th century tapestries. The great hall has a chestnut timber roof in the form of a ships hull. The room was completely dark (as were most rooms in the château) and I could not get a good photograph. Besides, there were a lot of school children there on a fieldtrip and they did not make picture taking very easy. One small room is called the Sacred Collections Room and contains a reliquary of an unknown saint from the 13th century. Inside glass cabinets are other sacred objects including a statue of Saint-John the Evangelist (16th century) and another statue of the Virgin and Child from 1460. The unique painting is from the Spanish School and depicts Saint-Bernardin-de-Sienne, Sainte-Catherine-d'Alexandrie and Saint-Louis-d'Anjou. Behind the château is a park with exceptional views of the Loire. It is here that Fulk Nerra, Count of Anjou built a donjon, or castle keep, in Langeais in 994. The ruins are thought to be the oldest surviving in France. From here he attacked Tours held by his rival, the Comte de Blois. Within the walls of the towering donjon Fulk Nerra made his residence. Its lofty bulk still looms over the latter château’s courtyard. Since 2008, one has access to the windows of this old fortress and can discover how it was built, thanks to the genuine reconstruction of the scaffolding as it was used in 994. L'église Saint-Jean-Baptiste was founded by Saint-Martin in the 4th century. It has undergone many restorations in its history. The choir and the apse date from the 11th century and the bell tower and porch of the church date from the 12th century. The steeple was built around 1450 but it has been damaged and rebuilt on several occasions due to bad weather. Under the crypt is an alter dating from the 10th century that depicts a scene of the founding of the church by Saint-Martin. According to the reading material provided by the tourist office, a restoration in 1865 by architect Aymard Verdier caused irreparable damage to the interior of the church.